Connect with us


Chris Monsour sworn in as new councilmember for Tiffin’s 1st Ward




Chris Monsour (left) is sworn in as councilmember for Tiffin's 1st Ward by Law Director Brent Howard (center) on Monday, June 19, 2023, as Mayor Dawn Iannantuono (right) observes. (Contributed Photo)

Tiffin, Ohio — During Monday evening’s Tiffin City Council meeting, Chris Monsour took the oath of office as the newly appointed councilmember for the 1st Ward. Monsour steps into the position previously held by Steve Lepard, who recently vacated the seat.

With an impressive background in education, Monsour brings 24 years of experience to his new role. He has served as an educator at esteemed institutions such as Findlay and Heidelberg Universities, Terra State Community College, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth, and Tiffin City Schools. His expertise spans various subjects, including biology, evolution, microbiology, and anatomy.

Monsour has also made notable contributions beyond the city’s borders, having served as a Teacher at Sea for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association and an Instructor of English as a Second Language at Tianjin Normal University in the People’s Republic of China.

Expressing his enthusiasm for the appointment, Monsour stated, “I am looking forward to serving on city council, and I would like to thank the central committee for granting me this opportunity to represent the 1st Ward and the entire Tiffin community.”

Tiffin Mayor Dawn Iannantuono applauded Monsour’s appointment, recognizing his significant contributions to the local educational community.

“Mr. Monsour has been a pillar in the educational community of Tiffin for many years. We are glad to welcome him to council and look forward to his continued service to our city in this new capacity,” said Mayor Iannantuono.

Former Councilmember Steve Lepard, who previously represented the 1st Ward from 2002-2011 and served as a councilmember at-large from 2014-2021, recently held the position again from 2022-2023. Monsour’s appointment was made by members of the Seneca County Republican Central Committee on June 7. He will serve for the remainder of the unexpired term, which concludes on December 31, 2023.

Never miss another story.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox with the free News Briefing.

Sign Up