Connect with us


Petitions for Tiffin City Council candidates rejected by board of elections




Tiffin City Council members Vickie Wilkins (left) and Ken Jones were among the four candidates whose petitions were rejected by the Seneca County Board of Elections on Monday, Feb. 13, 2023. (Official photos)

Tiffin, Ohio — The Seneca County Board of Elections has rejected the candidacy petitions of four Tiffin City Council candidates, including incumbents Vickie Wilkins and Ken Jones, for the May primary election.

During a meeting Monday afternoon, the board voted to reject the petitions of Wilkins, who currently serves as an at-large councilmember, and Jones, who serves as the councilmember for the city’s 2nd Ward, because they failed to properly fill out their petition forms.

Chris Monsour, a candidate for the 1st Ward, had his petitions rejected as he did not obtain enough valid signatures to make the ballot. 25 valid signatures are required for ward seats, and Monsour only had 23 valid signatures out of the 27 total signatures he submitted, according to the board.

John Bing, a candidate for one of the three at-large seats on council, also had his petitions rejected. 44 of the 59 signatures Bing submitted were valid. 50 valid signatures are required for at-large seats, according to the board.

The following candidates had their petitions approved and will appear on the May primary ballot in Tiffin:

Mayor of Tiffin

  • Lee Wilkinson
  • John Spahr
  • Mary Franks

City of Tiffin Law Director

  • Gina Grandillo
  • Zach Fowler

Tiffin-Fostoria Municipal Court Judge

  • Jim Fruth
  • Rhonda Best
  • Mark Repp

Tiffin City Council

  • At-large (3 seats up for election): John Kahler, Cheyane Thacker, John Hays
  • 1st Ward: Aaron Jones
  • 2nd Ward: Scott Hoernemann
  • 3rd Ward: Kevin Roessner
  • 4th Ward: Troy McKee, Dennis Snay

Never miss another story.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox with the free News Briefing.

Sign Up