Connect with us


Heidelberg honors faculty members for teaching, research excellence




From left: Dr. Meagan McBride, Dr. Aaron Roerdink, Dr. Greg Ramsdell, and Dr. Barry Devine (Contributed Photo)

Tiffin, Ohio — Heidelberg University announced the recipients of the annual Faculty Awards during the winter Board of Trustees meeting annual dinner on Feb. 16.

Four faculty members were recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, commitment to the humanities, and distinguished service to the campus.

Dr. Meagan McBride, assistant professor of graduate counseling, received the Ream-Paradiso Distinguished Teaching Award.

Dr. Greg Ramsdell, professor of choral music education, was awarded the Jane Frost Kalnow Professor in the Humanities.

Dr. Barry Devine, assistant professor of English, received the Distinguished Scholarship/Research Award for Faculty.

Last but not least, Dr. Aaron Roerdink, associate professor of chemistry, was awarded the Faculty Distinguished Service Award.

Each of the award recipients shared remarks, advice, and appreciation for teaching, research, and service to students. The awards dinner was hosted this year by Board Chair Kathy Geier. Board Vice Chair Rich Odell gave a special presentation about significant recent gifts and Chaplain Paul Sittason Stark provided the invocation. Following his opening remarks, Provost Bryan Smith presented the awards.

The Ream-Paradiso Teaching Award was first presented in 1996, and the Distinguished Scholarship/Research Award in 1999. This is the 22nd year for the Frost-Kalnow Professorship, and the Distinguished Service Award has been presented for the fifth year.

Never miss another story.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox with the free News Briefing.

Sign Up