Connect with us


County officials bid farewell to Commissioner Shayne Thomas in ‘thank you’ video Staff




Tiffin, Ohio — Various Seneca County officials thanked outgoing Commissioner Shayne Thomas and wished him well in his future endeavors in a video released Thursday.

Thomas was elected to the Seneca County Board of Commissioners in 2016. He decided not to run for re-election and instead threw his hat into the ring for the 88th Ohio House district seat. Thomas was defeated in the Republican primary for the statehouse seat earlier this year.

The video included messages from Public Relations Coordinator Jimmy Flint, Seneca County Juvenile/Probate Court Jay Meyer, David Zak and Amy Reinhart of Tiffin-Seneca Economic Partnership, County Auditor Julie Adkins, Health Commissioner Beth Schweitzer, and fellow Commissioners Mike Kerschner and Anthony Paradiso.

“Incredibly kind words from my colleagues. It’s been an honor to serve with you. Thank you,” Thomas said in response to the video.

Commissioner-elect Tyler Shuff, whose term commences on January 3, 2021, will fill Thomas’s seat on the board.