Connect with us


Seneca County is only Northwest Ohio county at lowest COVID-19 risk level Staff




Gov. Mike DeWine released Ohio’s updated Public Health Advisory System map on Thursday, showing Seneca County as the only Northwest Ohio county to be listed at the lowest COVID-19 risk level, known as “yellow alert” status.

New health data compiled by the Ohio Department of Health found that 18 counties currently have a very high risk of exposure and spread, which is risk level 3 or “red alert”: Ashland, Butler, Fayette, Hamilton, Lawrence, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Mercer, Montgomery, Muskingum, Pike, Portage, Putnam, Richland, Ross, Scioto, and Trumbull.

Seneca County is currently listed as having active exposure and spread, which is risk level 1.

“We have 18 Red counties, which is more than we’ve seen since the week of July 23,” Gov. DeWine said during his coronavirus press conference Thursday.

“Additionally, there are 58 Orange counties this week, the highest ever. 96% of Ohioans are living in a Red or Orange county. The virus continues to spread quickly throughout the state, and we need to continue staying at home when sick, wearing a mask when out, and keeping at least six feet between you and those outside of your household.”

The Ohio Department of Health reported 1,840 new confirmed and probable cases of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) Friday, a new record for daily reported cases and above the state’s 21-day reported daily case rolling average of 1,119.

The batch of new cases brings the state’s total number of COVID-19 cases to 166,102.

11 additional deaths were reported Friday, bringing the state’s total number of coronavirus-related deaths to 4,994.

Hospitalizations are up by 101 compared to Thursday’s data, making for a total of 16,301 reported hospitalizations statewide.

Admissions to intensive care units are up by 18, with a total of 3,413 ICU admissions throughout Ohio.

Get the latest news and updates delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up For Free