Connect with us


Columbian High School biology teacher wins top national award Staff




Chris Monsour (Photo courtesy

TIFFIN — A Columbian High School biology teacher has been named the recipient of a top national award.

Chris Monsour, an AP biology teacher at Columbian, was recognized by the National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) with The Kim Foglia AP Biology Service Award.

The Kim Foglia AP Biology Service Award recognizes an AP Biology teacher who displays a willingness to share materials, serves as a mentor to both students and professional colleagues, creates an innovative and student-centered classroom environment, and exemplifies a personal philosophy that encourages professional growth as an AP biology teacher and member of that community.

Sponsored by Pearson, the Neil A. Campbell Educational Trust, and NABT, the Kim Foglia AP Biology Service Award includes a $1000 honorarium and a recognition plaque to be presented at the NABT Professional Development Conference.

Forrest Trisler, principal of Columbian High School, said Monsour is “one of the most dedicated and student-centered teachers in our district.”

“In terms of using innovative instructional strategies, personalizing learning for students, and building close and strong student-centered relationships with students, Mr. Monsour is one of the best teachers whom I’ve encountered. Tiffin Columbian and our students are very fortunate to have him on our staff,” Trisler said.

With the move of the NABT Conference to a virtual event, Monsour will not be able to be congratulated in person. But the NABT is exploring how to recognize Monsour and the other 2020 award winners during an online celebration in November.

“Chris places an emphasis on reading in his course and developed a unit around the book The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. One activity he had his students do as part of the unit was to write a letter to the Skloot and LAcks family about the impact the book had on them,” Mark D. Little, AP Section Chair for NABT, wrote in a letter announcing Monsour’s award.