Editor’s note: This story has been updated to correct an error that stated the new law takes effect Oct. 1.
Later this month, you now must be 21 years old to buy tobacco products in the state of Ohio.
The new law raising the minimum age from 18 to 21 goes into effect this month, and it impacts everything from cigarettes and cigars to vape pens and liquids.
It’s estimated the change will result in a state tax loss of around $20 million per year.
“We have known for a long, long time that if a young person can get to be 21 without smoking, the odds are pretty heavy that they aren’t ever going to smoke,” Ohio Governor Mike DeWine said.
Nearly 95 percent of adult smokers say they tried their first cigarette before the age of 21, according to the American Lung Association.
The state’s new law also applies to rolling papers, filters and other smoking and vaping accessories.
Anti-smoking groups are especially concerned about electronic cigarettes.
“Epidemic use of e-cigarettes by our youth is frightening,” said Jeff Stephens, director of Ohio government relations for the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network.