Connect with us


Candidates for Clinton Township Trustee enter final stretch of campaigning




TIFFIN – You’ve likely seen their signs around the outskirts of town, some more than others. Now, the three candidates for Clinton Township Trustee are entering the final stretch of campaign season: Jim Distel and Denny Moyer, incumbents running for re-election, joined by former trustee Dennis Kingseed.

“Clinton Township is governed by a three-member board of trustees, who are elected in November of odd-numbered years to a four-year term beginning the following January 1. Two are elected in the year after the presidential election and one is elected in the year before it. There is also an elected township fiscal officer, who serves a four-year term beginning on April 1 the year after the election. This election is held in November of the year before the presidential election. Vacancies in the fiscal office or in the board of trustees are filled by the remaining trustees,” according to the township’s website.

While Moyer and Kingseed have typically dominated the farming areas of Clinton Township in past elections, Distel tends to outperform both candidates in heavily-residential areas, including many subdivisions.

Dennis Baugher, one of three current trustees whose term expires in 2019, appears to be a close ally of Mr. Moyer. Baugher likely supports Distel’s candidacy over Kingseed, as Moyer and Kingseed have had a history of disagreements.

The 2017 general election for Clinton Township Trustee and other positions/issues will take place on Tuesday, November 7, 2017.

[the_ad id=”756″]

Never miss another story.

Get the latest news delivered to your inbox with the free News Briefing.

Sign Up